Before you advertise your property for rent, you should review the state and local laws that may apply. 

These regulations listed are not comprehensive. Please visit the related government pages for complete information.

Miami-Dade County (unincorporated portions only)
Under Miami-Dade County’s ordinance regulating short-term rentals in the unincorporated portions of the County, individuals offering property for short-term rental on sites like HomeAway.com and VRBO.com must obtain a Certificate of Use from the County and comply with additional requirements. We encourage you to review the County’s requirements for short-term rentals, set forth here (http://www.miamidade.gov/building/standards/residential-short-term-vacation-rentals.asp), and apply for a Certificate of Use (https://www8.miamidade.gov/Apps/RER/CUVacationRentals/). Among the County’s requirements for short-term rentals are specifications regarding maximum occupancy, residency, providing notice of local laws to travelers, providing notice to homeowners associations, parking, avoiding renting to sex offenders, and swimming pool safety.
 
St. Paul, Minnesota
Under St. Paul’s ordinance regulating short-term rentals, individuals offering property for short-term rental on sites like HomeAway.com and VRBO.com must obtain a license from the City and comply with additional requirements. We encourage you to review the City’s requirements for short-term rentals, set forth here (https://www.stpaul.gov/departments/planning-economic-development/planning/current-activities/short-term-rental-zoning-and) and here (https://www.stpaul.gov/departments/safety-inspections/licenses/short-term-rentals), and apply for a license (https://www.stpaul.gov/departments/safety-inspections/licenses/short-term-rental-host).

Chicago
Under Chicago’s ordinance regulating short-term rentals, individuals offering property for short-term rental on sites like HomeAway.com and VRBO.com must register with the City. We have worked with the City to allow our partners to apply for a registration number directly from our website, starting August 7, 2017.  For more information about the city’s short-term rental law, please visit the City of Chicago's Business Affairs and Consumer Protection website.

Portland, Oregon
Before you advertise your property for rent, you should review the state and local laws that may apply. You may be required to obtain an accessory short-term rental permit, undergo a safety inspection on the property, and notify your neighbors about the existence of the rental property. Find out which permit you may need and to learn more about Portland’s short-term vacation rental regulations here: https://www.portlandoregon.gov/bds/65603. HomeAway’s Certificate of Authority to Collect Transient Lodgings Tax can be found attached below.

San Francisco
Rentals in San Francisco, California, for less than 30 days, may be subject to the City’s Administrative Code Chapters 37 and 41A.   The regulations indicate that to rent your home, you must be a permanent resident.  That is, you must live in your home for at least 275 days per year, or if you have owned or rented for less than a year, 75% of the days. The regulations also require: registration with the San Francisco Planning Department before renting; collection and remittance of transient occupancy taxes for all short-term rentals; and filing quarterly reports reflecting rental activity and the taxes paid based on that activity.  Details about the laws and regulations can be found in the City of San Francisco’s Short Term Rental Starter Kit.. Additional information about San Francisco’s transient occupancy tax can be found here.

Santa Fe
Before you advertise your property for rent, you should review the state and local laws that may apply. Rentals for fewer than 30 days in Santa Fe, New Mexico may be subject to Section 14-6.2 of the City’s Land Use Development Code. The regulations set out requirements for renting residential units in the City. Those renting residential units may be required obtain a permit or register their unit with the City. The Code imposes other requirements relating to the number of guests who are allowed to stay in your unit, parking, noise, and compliance with the City’s health, safety, and environmental codes. You may be required to collect and remit to the City all applicable local, state, and federal taxes, including the City’s Lodgers’ Tax.  You can learn more about the City’s short term rental laws, and obtain the application for a short term rental permit, at https://www.santafenm.gov/short_term_rentals.

Santa Monica
On May 12, 2015, the Santa Monica City Council adopted the Home-Sharing Ordinance reiterating its ban on the rental of entire units as vacation rentals. The Home-Sharing Ordinance also legalized the short term rental of a portion of a person’s home when the host lives on-site throughout the visitor’s stay and when the host obtains a business license. Hosts are also required to collect and remit Transient Occupancy Tax (TOT) if not collected and remitted by the hosting platform.

Tuolumne County, California
Before you advertise your property for rent, you should review the state and local laws that may apply. Rentals for fewer than 30 days in unincorporated areas of Tuolumne County, California may be subject to the County’s Transient Occupancy Tax. You may be required to register your rental unit with the county tax collector, obtain a transient occupancy registration certificate, and follow other notification and record-keeping requirements. You can learn more about the County’s transient occupancy tax at http://www.tuolumnecounty.ca.gov/index.aspx?NID=916.

Utah
Before you advertise your property for rent, you should review the state and local laws that may apply. Rentals for fewer than 30 days in Utah may be subject to a transient room tax up to 4.25% imposed by your county. The Utah State Tax Commission publishes a list of the counties that impose a transient room tax and the current rate at http://tax.utah.gov/salestax/rate/16q3other.pdf. More information about the transient room tax is available at the Utah State Tax Commission’s website here: http://tax.utah.gov/sales/transientroom.

Coral Gables, Florida
We have posted a letter (attached below) from the City of Coral Gables at the City’s request. This letter does not reflect the views of HomeAway.com, Inc., regarding the validity of the City’s application of its law.