Overview
Owners and property managers can rate their guests who book through our sites. These ratings are shown as an average to owners with online booking when a traveler submits a booking request. If the traveler has been reviewed by previous owners, the average will appear at the top of the conversation in the owner or managers Inbox.

Solicitation
If the traveler books using HomeAway checkout, the owner or property manager will see a card in their marketplace feed to review their guests on check-out day. If the owners have not reviewed their guests, they will receive an email three days post stay. The owner can rate the traveler from one to five stars on their overall experience, cleanliness, communication, and adherence to house rules. There are no free text boxes. The traveler can also review the owner and the property by following the email link and will receive an email to submit a property review on the day of check-out. Guests can also submit a review in the My Trips section of their traveler account.

Timeline
HomeAway provides a two-way review system allowing both travelers and owners an opportunity to review their experiences with a reservation. The traveler and owner have one year to provide their review, but once the cycle is started, the other has 14 days to complete their review. The reviews are private during this 14 day period. Once the 14 days elapse or both parties complete their reviews, the property review will go live on the site. After the 14 days have elapsed, both parties will not be able to edit their reviews.

Display
Ratings of travelers are not public; owners and property managers with online booking can view the average star rating of travelers with whom they are corresponding. Once a booking has been completed, owners will continue to have access to view the average star rating of that traveler. Other travelers, owners without online booking, and owners who are not in a conversation with a traveler will not be able to view the traveler's rating. Travelers who receive ratings will be able to see their ratings within their profile. In addition, they will receive an email when new ratings are added. This email is not sent during the 14 day private window unless both parties have completed their reviews prior.